The lazy way to pumpkin pie bliss

I swear people, this isn’t a food blog.  But maybe now it is.  Seems that I’m baking and creating and thinking of food pretty darn frequently.  I’m ok with that. 

Anyhow, pumpkin pie is one of my favorite flavors.  I love that stuff – the warm spices are always reminiscent of chai tea.  It’s a comforting, soothing type of flavor, full of cinnamon, ginger, clove….and other yumminess.  Off topic (sorta) – why do we only eat pumpkin pie in the fall???  This seems kooky.  It tastes just as good in April as it does on turkey day. 

Whatever, so I found this great recipe online for pumpkin pie pudding, made in a crock pot.  It’s craziness.  Imagine, if you will, a nice vessel filled with nothing but pumpkin pie innards.  Yeah, I’d smack my momma for some of that, too.  And how easy – no crust, no stirring, no thought involved.   Yummy food made lazy.  

Click on the following link for the recipe, although I made a couple of changes:  I don’t do canned stuff (if you want to be bored with me ranting about the evils of canned stuff, just give me a call, but for now, I’ll spare you the details), so instead of evaporated milk, I used the same quantity of skim milk and added a few tablespoons of milk powder.  Also, no canned pumpkin, but I just make my own, so there.  Last but not least, no pumpkin pie spice, since it’s just a mix of spices I already had.  I made a mixture of cinnamon, ginger, clove, nutmeg and allspice and threw that in.  Also, you don’t have to cook it nearly as long as the recipe states.  Mine was perfect after about 3 hours. 

I recommend serving this good stuff warm, with a dollop of whipped cream spiked with dark rum.  Still tastes good cold, but the texture is more firm and the flavors just don’t sing quite so loud.  Do as I say and you’ll thank me later. 

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Pumpkin-Pie-Pudding-2/Detail.aspx

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 06:45:02

    I tasted it, folks, and it really is good!

    Reply

  2. Tiller
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 18:17:31

    Love the blog makeover, Harm!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

