Fat Bottomed Girls

Sooo, I was thinking lately about where I’d go when and if the boss-man (my oncologist, because I pretty much ask for his permission to do everything) cleared me for diving.  Would I hit up Cozumel for some easy drift diving?  Would I go back to Roatan and have “walk out your front door and into the water” diving?  Or would I spend weeks building up my strength/stamina (thanks for that loss of muscle tone, chemo – I’ll get you for this!!!) and roll into Bonaire, ready for some balls-to-the-wall diving?  The kind of diving where if you’re not actively in the water, you’re on a surface interval, waiting to off-gas enough to jump back in the water.  Diving where you lug your gear from a pickup truck to one of a zillion sites on the island, and pack-mule it to the water, 5 times a day.

Yeah, Bonaire.  That’s what I was gonna say, too.  I love that place.

Anyhow, it got me to then thinking of my most favorite characters underwater.  Hands down, number one is a juvenile trunkfish.  Imagine you’re underwater and you see rabbit poop float by.  That’s a baby trunkfish.  Teeny tiny, with fins pretty much transparent.  They’re a bugger to photograph, because they are shy and dart around so much.  But so cute.

Then they grow up and aren’t quite so cute.  This is a golden smooth trunkfish, after he ate his Wheaties and bulked up for the football team. 

Best part of them when they grow up though is their shape.  If you look at ’em head on, they’re narrow up top, and then widen out with a flat, but fat, bottom.  Every time I see one cruising around, it reminds me of Queen’s Fat Bottomed Girls.  Probably this offends the males of this species, but still…..

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aunt Beverly
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 17:52:20

    Well Harmony, I finally found your blog. Your mom and Brad told me about it but my brother in true fashion, sorry Brad, wasn’t sure how to get there. Sooooo what do you do when you need to know something or want to be nosey. You “google it”. Truly amazing, I went back to July and read all the way to here along with the comments of other people. I will print some of your comments off for Melvin who prays for you every day I know he would love it. I just wanted to say Hi and will keep up with your blog.

    I dont’ know you probably don’t know but I have had several skin cancers, two basel I have had a couple basel cells and one squamous cell on my lower lip (this one because it is in a mucous area was a little more serious). Although there are many cancers some not so bad, some very bad, they all strike fear in the heart when that doctor says the c word. I just never at any time thought that I would be in more peril because of it. I am now a little over 4 years out and go for chest x-ray once I get over this cold and upper respiratory infection I have. So I pray that it will be good too.

    I pray for you and your family always and hold your mother’s hand daily.

    Just so you know, I have seen rabbit poop but not underwater. Take care, Beverly

    Reply

  2. Mom
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 14:12:36

    If I could just get past the idea of there being things with TEETH down there I’m sure I would love being under the sea. Its bad enough I have to think about you swimming around with barracudas and sharks… Rabbit poo isn’t so bad. Fat bottom girls I can live with. Heck, I live with THAT every day, come to think of it. I’m glad you find such peace in this activity and really hope you will be cavorting with your friends the trunkfish again real soon. Make sure Lee is with you to keep you from floating off to Antartica…

    Love you, my Beauty.

    Mutti

    Reply

  3. Chera
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 17:47:52

    I wonder what that fish taste like with butter?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

