Can you feel the love??

Ever have one of those days when things just seem so clear?  Take today, for instance.  I truly believe that God gives everyone a gift.  Some people are natural musicians, or artists.  Some folks can write really good prose; other people are just really good at robbing banks.  Me, I like to cook and bake.  I think I’m pretty decent at it.  Not in a professional chef kind of way.  I said I was a good cook – I never said I was all that innovative, culinarily speaking.  I like to think that I cook in a way that makes people happy when they eat. 

So, I was thinking about cooking today, and realized that if I can do something well, I should put it to best use.  I issued myself an edict:  Cook to love people.  I love my peeps:  my family, my friends, the ladies I work with (girls rule), and it makes me feel really good to feed them, so that’s pretty much my mission in life.  I’m gonna cook for the people I love, and I’m gonna do it a lot.  If you know me, you’re gonna be fed, and know that in everything I make for you, there’s love behind it.  It may not be the best thing for your waistline, but it’ll be the best thing for your soul.

I have a soul too, though.  No point in making mama unhappy.  So, tonight I made some really great chicken tortilla soup.  Full of good stuff like onions, fresh tomato, cilantro, and spices.  I didn’t want the soup to get lonely, so I made some truly yummy corn muffins.  There was some butter involved.  My bowl looked lovely with the soup.  Still, it was missing something.  So, with joy in my heart, I added sour cream.

And extra sharp white cheddar. 

I guess I really do love myself.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tiller
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 18:43:05

    I think my gift may be enjoying good food, and you really had my mouth watering with this entry (or should I say “entree”)! That soup sounds wonderful, and I LOVE corn muffins. Could you mail me some?

    Reply

  2. Aunt Rebecca
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 19:41:22

    Yeah, can’t wait to get my food in the mail, too!!! Hungry just thinking about it 🙂

    Reply

  3. Mom
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 07:03:39

    That sounds wonderful, Harm. I can just taste the butter melting on the muffins now… Let’s make some of this soup with the left over turkey from Thanksgiving!

    Reply

  4. linz
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 08:38:31

    hey harm,
    you’re an awesome cook, you can make things that are healthy and delicious. you make me hungry. I love you.

    Reply

  5. Jo Ann
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 15:48:36

    I so wish I could love to cook. But I don’t. Odd, I really like reading cooking magazines. I must say soup and bread are the very highest on the foods I like. Ok, maybe cakes are first. You are so right that we all have a talent from God. It is a gift that you know yours, and you enjoy yours. Some gifts are fun to share, if not the food itself, the recipe. Enjoy your dinner. Be blessed.

    Reply

  6. Keith
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 19:52:16

    Your Joy of cooking came partly from Maw Maw Olive, she loved to cook for anybody, anytime, all the time. I have mastered some of her recipes, and some I have not, but I still love trying. Love you my sweet daughter. Dad

    Reply

Leave a Reply

