When life hands you lemons, eat a pop tart…

That’s pretty much the best I could come up with for this one.  Today was my rescheduled chemo day.  Doc said my platelets were even lower than last week.  Again, “prohibitively low.”  I say, live dangerously.  Ok, that might not be completely true.  The truth is that I’m obsessed with the idea of my chemo not working if I take more than a week off.  I’ve been burned that way before, and I had to start at square one again.  So, I convinced my doc to gimme the juice anyway.  I’ll get a shot of Neulasta (a white blood cell boost) on Wednesday and then if my platelets are still shot on Friday, I may have a platelet transfusion.  Worth it to get the goods, especially since my tumor numbers continue to go down.  That means that I have to be ultra careful not to injure myself in the next few weeks.  Tough for me sometimes because I’m super accident prone.  Gee, I can’t use a knife this week – the man will be cooking dinner I guess!  Sweet….

I’m eating a pop tart during chemo today because another patient I met weeks ago told me that there’s this theory going around about consuming sugar during chemo.  Cancer loves sugar.  Cancer cells absorb sugar faster than regular cells, so a lot of people with cancer cut sugar out of their diets in an effort to reduce cancer growth.  So the idea is that if cancer loves sugar so much, eat some during chemo days and when the cells go nuts absorbing the sugar, they end up absorbing more chemo, too.  I have no idea whatsoever if this works or not, but it sure is a nice excuse to eat a pop tart, something I just don’t keep in the house.  Fiber One makes a yummy brown sugar/cinnamon, and since it has tons of fiber, I don’t feel quite as guilty eating it. 

Ok, done talking about crappy cancer.  Cleaned out the garage from moving weekend, and donated a ton of stuff that had been in storage for the last year.  If it wasn’t used in a year, we probably don’t need it, so to the thrift store with you!  Here’s a great tax tip:  if you donate, you’ll get a blank receipt because the thrift store or Goodwill can’t assign a value to what you donated.  Instead of itemizing everything, take a few pictures of the whole lot and save it.  Then, when you file your taxes, you can list the used value of the lot that you donated and you’ll have those pictures as backup in the off-chance you ever get audited.  It’ll save a ton of time in the long run and you have photographic evidence of your donation to back up your deduction.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rebecca
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 10:54:14

    Oh well, guess you can’t come to GA and play with Tracie right now :-/ I’m glad you’re getting the chemo anyway. I’m sure you’ll do fine! Jerry and I visited your brother last Saturday. It was awesome! He’s a remarkable young man, and although he’s paying the price for bad choices, I am confident he is a man of God and will do great things. Just as I’m confident you are a woman of God and will also make a great impact in this world! Actually, you already have. You have touched so many lives through your experiences. Thank you for being part of my life. I love you!

    Reply

    • harmonyrogers
      Aug 30, 2010 @ 19:24:18

      Heh, I’m still bearing the telltale evidence of my last playtime with Tracie! I loved going to the doc and showing him my brush with cat scratch fever! I miss you and love you. So glad you went to see Nolan, and I agree that he’s on a totally different track in his life. He is so intelligent and well-read.

      Reply

      • Rebecca
        Aug 31, 2010 @ 16:12:39

        I still feel bad about your “Tracie scar,” but I’m so glad you DIDN’T get cat scratch fever from it 🙂

      • harmonyrogers
        Aug 31, 2010 @ 16:43:17

        Woman, please. The Tracie cat-tastrophie (yep, I just said that), was more funny than anything else. It’s faded a ton. I think more obvious would be the numerous bruises on my legs, making me look like I was beaten with a baseball bat. Eh, no worries. I just stay away from sharp objects and car doors….

  2. Jerry
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 11:48:44

    Hi, Harmony! Finally poking the keys to join your virtual voice-over… I agree with that beautiful Rebecca! You have also inspired me in your quest for wholeness. Your faith in the Lord will always be rewarded because He is the Way, the Truth and the Life! You are one of His beloved children. A child of God & a child of the King of Kings. Your brother’s countenance, testimony and smile is such a precious blessing as well! I’m so glad you’ve reunited with each other. May the rest of your day be suprisingly lighthearted! Love you!

    Reply

  3. Jo Ann
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 13:19:03

    Hey Harmony,
    I love the sugar idea. And it makes perfect sense to me. Enjoy those pop tarts.
    I am with you on the theory of if you haven’t used it for a year, it can go. We are going to try to do a yard sale next month. Urg. So much work. The worse part is getting up on a Saturday morning at 5am to put the stuff out.
    I like your tip on the photo. Every year about a month before tax time Dean pulls out a stack of receipts from Goodwill, that have nothing written on them as to what was taken. So I get my yearly lecture about how important it is to write things down. From here on out, I will be taking a photo before I load things in the car, and he can just pull it up and look at the pile in the photo. Have you ever thought about being a marriage counselor???
    Enjoy the rest of your day, and know you are in the hearts and prayers of many.

    Reply

    • harmonyrogers
      Aug 30, 2010 @ 19:27:16

      Hi Jo Ann –

      Welcome! Glad you made it and so happy I was able to give you a tip to save time. My boss taught me that one and she mentions that to everyone who makes charitable donations. I was just happy that there are people out there that will get some really good stuff that is just taking up space in my house. Feels good to help out those that aren’t as fortunate….

      Reply

  4. Mom
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 17:35:08

    YOU???? Accident prone???? I STILL remember you with your legs hanging through the ceiling of the garage when you fell through from the attic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

