Miscellaneous stuff…

I get my pump disconnected (which means I reward myself by going swimming tonight and I get a nice bath later) today!  Sounds irrational, but I’m rewarding the medical back office of my oncologist for my good news yesterday by baking a big batch of oatmeal raisin cookies (shhh, don’t tell ’em I baked them with whole wheat flour).  I know they aren’t the ones that make my chemo work, but they love me, so they call me when there’s good news to hear.  Seriously, those people are angels, from the nurses to the docs, to the infusion staff.  I had the worst pain of my life (yep, worse than natural childbirth – I’d go thru labor again to avoid that kind of pain) from a procedure in May.  I went to the oncologist and they could just look at me and know how much it hurt.  Two shots of morphine later and I was a new woman, with a yummy chocolate milkshake.  I love them. 

After pump disconnect, I get to go test drive a new Highlander and a Murano.  Time to trade in the 4Runner – and I’m thinking something with a bit more comfort, something less rugged. Personally, I’ve even checked out the new Nissan Leaf (electric car), and I’m so tempted, but I think it’s just a wee bit small for us.  Then, off to the store for some Kombucha.  Really, the stuff is great.  It’s an acquired taste, but it’s chock full of antioxidants, probiotics, and is supposed to be great for liver detox. 

Anyone have a kid that goes to bed with a toy?  Big B takes a toy to bed at night, and there never seems to be a rhyme or reason to why he picked that specific toy.  Last night was Woody from Toy Story 3 and a nickel.  So, come 1:30 this morning, I can hear Blane crying in his room.  Sure enough, he woke up and the “penny” (no son, that’s actually a nickel) was not in his hand and nowhere to be found.  So mom and dad had to search his bed and find said nickel so he’d go back to sleep.  Which then lead to 2 hours of insomnia for me after the nickel recovery mission.  Thanks, kiddo.  4 year olds, they defy logic sometimes….

Last but not least, I must say, tea tree essential oil is a miracle product.  Great to put on wounds, makes an excellent natural mouthwash, and last but not least, cures thrush.  Yep, yet another side effect of my current chemo.  I’d rather use something natural than have to take drugs constantly for the next several months.  Plus, it’s cheap.  I can get a bottle of that stuff for less than $10, and it’ll last me till the end of time, just about.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 19:29:23

    You are a sweetheart and I know the angels at Dr. Chadha’s just LOVE you (and not because of the oatmeal cookies though I’m sure it doesn’t hurt!)

    Smooches,

    Mutti

    Reply

  2. Tiller
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 16:38:33

    Hey Harm,

    Just “rediscovered” your blog after your recent D2D post. I am glad to hear that things are going so well for you. I get a PET scan on Monday, and if the cancer is all gone, I will only have 4 more treatments. Like you, I am counting down the days until I can get back in the water. I’m going to try for West Palm Beach in late October.
    I will check in periodically to see how you are doing.

    Yours,
    Floyd

    Reply

Leave a Reply

