Praise God….

Just got the call from my oncologist.  My blood draw from yesterday’s chemo came back.  My tumor markers went down by half.  It’s astronomical, amazing, and it’s got me crying.  Even though my birthday was Sunday, I still got a great belated birthday gift – God and my oncologist chipped in on this one.

My chemo right now is FOLFOX.  It’s a combination of Oxaliplatin (a platinum based chemo), lucavorin (high dose of folic acid to increase the absorption), and 5-FU (which I still believe is the worlds most awesome name for chemo).  My nutso neuropathy is SO WORTH IT for this.  Added good news, on my off week (I get chemo every other week), I’m allowed a beer, a glass of wine, a margarita, whatever. 

God, you rule.  Cancer, suck it.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 17:14:38

    My heart is so full and I am so very grateful. Bet you feel like you are on a roller coaster sometimes… Can’t beat this awesome high!! Head is so far in the clouds the birds are at eye level!!

    I love you, my Beauty. Enjoy every last second of this wonderful day… Wish I was up there right now to celebrate but will see you this weekend.

    Reply

  2. Keith
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 17:29:24

    My sweet baby i was driving my bus when i got your text, Had several kids ask me why i was crying and smiling at the same time, told them that no matter what life throws at us we have to throw something right back at it. God has a purpose for your life we dont know what it is but he will let you know, you just have to keep on fighting back at this ugly thing that has entered your body but not your soul. Your courage just makes me sit back and think how awesome you are. Kim is going to text you with some info and a blog i think about a young girl that is i think 16 years old and goes to Keleigh’s school, they just found out she has 2 tumors on her brain and is at St. Judes right now, when you get it would you send her some words of incouragment. I think she would really like to hear from you. Be sweet my girl and keep kicking this things butt.

    Reply

  3. Mom
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 19:05:08

    I am making a wish…

    You are healthy and your body is strong!

    Love you,

    Mutti

    Reply

Leave a Reply

