Words of wisdom from the Hill Country

You might not have guessed it, but when I was a teen, I loved “alternative rock.”  Ah yes, Harmony dressed in long black skirts and steel-toed combat boots, and whined about how hard life was like as a teenager.  I’d like to take this moment to apologize to my mom:  I probably gave you a nervous tic.  Then again, maybe you secretly snuck off to your room and laughed at how dumb I acted.

Anyhow, fast forward to today.  I live in Texas and married a man that hunts, wears cowboy boots, and farts.  And he runs, but that tidbit doesn’t really fit in with where I’m going, so we’ll just not focus on it.  Ergo, I listen to country music now.  Specifically, Texas Country.  Texas Country tends to be a story set to a great melody.  The songwriters are so stinking talented, and there are songs that can easily bring me to tears, either from the lyrics or the melody itself.  I’ve found so much wisdom in some songs, and also some of the best times of my life – you haven’t lived until you’re 7 months pregnant and attending the Robert Earl Keen Christmas show at Floore’s Country Store.  So, here is a sampling; most of it Texas Country:

“The road goes on forever, and the party never ends….” – Robert Earl Keen

“If you live your whole life up on a shelf, you’ve got no one to blame but your own damn self…” – Pat Green

“It was a pleasure of my life
And i cherished every time
And my whole world
It begins and ends with you…” – Zac Brown Band:  This one is for you Blane, if you ever read this blog.  God certainly had a hand in creating you, son. 

“Flesh and blood, it turns to dust, scatters in the wind.  Love is all that matters in the end…” – Robert Earl Keen:  For you, love

“Well, I’ve crossed that old state line
More than a time or two
If you see me leavin’ you’d best be believin’
I’ll be back before the week gets through
If I stay gone too long
No tellin’ what I might do
I might hijack a plane, I might jump a freight train
To get back home, it’s true…” – Kevin Fowler

Many thanks to Rebecca Thies for inspiring me to copy-cat her music inspired blog post.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 20:42:44

    I just knew someday you’d turn smart and learn to love country music…

    :o) Mutti

    Reply

  2. Rebecca
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 22:07:58

    Yes, Dear, I can believe you like Alternative Music. In fact, I seem to remember a bit of that 😉 So glad you outgrew it. There’s reason Alice Cooper sang that song, “Eighteen.” “I’m eighteen, and I don’t know what I want….” We’ve all been there, in some form or fashion. I’m just glad most of us don’t stay there.

    As far as country, I know what you mean. Some of my particular favorites, which also remind me of my daughter, are…

    Martina McBride – “In My Daughter’s Eyes”
    Rascal Flatts – just about anything they do
    Brad Paisley – “When I Get Where I’m Going” (I’m having that one played at my funeral :-). Also “Waitin’ on a Woman” and “Then”

    I could go on, but it’s after midnight and this (almost) old girl is tired 🙂

    Love you ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

