Let’s Play a Game!!

Quick, what do these things have in common??

  1. Popsicles
  2. Ice Cream
  3. Smoothies
  4. Any Drink Colder Than Room Temp

Time’s up – do we have a winner?  The answer is:  stuff I cannot consume right now because I’ve got neuropathy from one of my chemo drugs.  It would be kind of cool in a freaky way if it wasn’t so darn inconvenient.  Basically, when I consume anything cold (or touch anything cold), I get pins and needles.  So if I eat some ice cream, wherever the ice cream touches in my mouth, it feels like a zillion little needles poking me all over my tongue, cheeks, etc.  Same thing happens if I touch something cold, like grabbing the gallon of milk from the fridge.  It’s worse in the day or so following chemo.  About the time it wears off, it’s time for another treatment.  This is especially delightful right now in the summer, when it’s about 700 degrees outside and I’d like to enjoy a sno cone with the hubs and Blane.  Nope, I just get to look longingly at their treats while I enjoy a luscious bottle of room temperature water. 

I’ll take it though.  Whenever I face something that hurts, I always tell myself it’ll be a finite amount of pain.  Things can only suck for so long.  Childbirth, jogging, really bad movies, etc.  I can deal with this for now knowing that the payoff (die cancer, die!) is worth the side-effects.  Doesn’t mean I won’t whine now and then though…..

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Jul 21, 2010 @ 20:53:18

    Good things at room temp in the great state of Texas in July:
    Watermelon; coffee left over from the morning at 2:00 in the afternoon with lots of sugar and cream as a pick me up; brie, bing cherries and mint white tea; juice boxes; sparkling water

    Reply

  2. Rebecca
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 10:04:28

    I wish I could think of some brilliant ideas for you, but nothing comes to mind. The watermelon one is the best! Or….what about things like lemon meringue pie? It doesn’t have to be TOO cold 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

